Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    33

    Where should DAS (Dishcarge Air Sensor) be mounted? (Lennox SLP98V)

    Hi everyone,

    Had a discharge air sensor installed today on my Lennox SLP98V. The Tech installed it in 2 different places. First, he installed it in the rear of the supply duct just directly above the A-coil (see last picture, that is where it is now).

    Second, he installed it on a branch duct (see pictures one and two, look for the aluminum foil tape covering the hole just above the "natural gas" yellow label on the nat-gas line.

    The position over the a-coil reads a much higher temperature rise which results in the blower speed being much higher. The second location off the branch duct reads a lower temperature rise (and thus, much lower blower speed results).

    Which is the correct spot that it should be installed?

    Many thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Atlanta,GA.
    Posts
    811
    what did they installation instructions say? and whats the deal with the plastic dryer hose? and the long run of copper gas line with the electrical tied to it that is a disaster waiting to happen. hope this isnt a new install

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Atlanta,GA.
    Posts
    811
    oh and where is the insulation on the duct? those pictures look like they should be on the wall of shame

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    33
    Not a new install. "Dryer Hose" goes to a generalaire humidifier. They didn't leave any installation instructions behind.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,367
    Quote Originally Posted by chillerout1 View Post
    those pictures look like they should be on the wall of shame
    lol i couldn't agree more

    Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Atlanta,GA.
    Posts
    811
    what tstat do you have? could be that it is set up incorrectly, discharge sensor should be in the supply downstream of acoil, do you have install or owners man for tstat? and yes you need to get that electrical off of that gas line!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Litchfield,Il
    Posts
    565
    Quote Originally Posted by nk8651 View Post
    Second, he installed it on a branch duct (see pictures one and two, look for the aluminum foil tape covering the hole just above the "natural gas" yellow label on the nat-gas line.


    Copper and Natural Gas is a No No. Please look into your service company replacing this with the correct piping.
    If your not getting the results you desire then change. People change from either desperation or inspiration.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event