Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    607

    manitowoc indigo -full bin problem

    Just installed a new machine at a Lonestar. Setup the ice thickness and ran through 1 cycle. the unit finished its harvest and then indicated i had a 'full bin' and that my water curtain was open. neither scenario was true. i reset power on unit and it started back up and did same thing.in setup menu i set binsensor option to 'none' still did the same thing. i then set it to 'bin' and then 'dispenser' which the unit doesnt have anyway. Still did the same thing. i suspect i either have a defective water curtain sensor or the sensor/magnet in door is not activating the sensor. im calling manitowoc in the morning. in the meantime anyone have any other suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6,829
    Sensor wires connected to board ? Try another magnet ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    607
    yes wires are connected to board and connected to the right terminals. there is no exposed magnet on these units like the S series. this is an Indigo unit. i dont believe there is a megnet in the water curtain on these units . i believe it is a proximity sensor.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6,829
    Get the model # if you could please.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    might be a dumb question but . . . did you have the curtain off during the cycle for any reason & just not have it back on after it harvested? thus the full bin indication

    edit: reread your op u said it wasn't open so i assume it was on .. ohm the bin switch with leads disconnected & see what it reads with curtain open & closed

    Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    Quote Originally Posted by lowtemp View Post
    yes wires are connected to board and connected to the right terminals. there is no exposed magnet on these units like the S series. this is an Indigo unit. i dont believe there is a megnet in the water curtain on these units . i believe it is a proximity sensor.
    there's a magnet you just can't see it. it would be under the white plastic on the inside of the curtain. indigo is basically an S series machine with a bunch of extras

    Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    683
    They already have a service bulletin about the ice dampers sticking on certain models and causing a false full bin condition..... If I remember right, you grind down the inside edge of the damper (the damper has the magnet and rotates down to trip the bin switch). If yours has a curtain this may not apply. Check Manitowoc website for applicable service bulletins. Good luck!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    Quote Originally Posted by trippintl0 View Post
    They already have a service bulletin about the ice dampers sticking on certain models and causing a false full bin condition..... If I remember right, you grind down the inside edge of the damper (the damper has the magnet and rotates down to trip the bin switch). If yours has a curtain this may not apply. Check Manitowoc website for applicable service bulletins. Good luck!
    what models use an ice damper that looks like that? i haven't seen that before

    Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    7,197
    The switch is easy to test..........Got Ground?
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Loris SC
    Posts
    208
    Ditto on the Ground. Make sure the machine is grounded properly or those sensors will not work right.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    agree on the ground.

    a little off topic but id like to think improper grounding of machines must rank high on calls to the factory for machines that don't function right. . . . for machines in play for a while i bet that high ranking call is filthy machines/components


    Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6,829
    lowtemp,
    Do you have a model number for us to work with ?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    131
    2things. There is a large washer u need to remove on thickness probe after installation and the is also an adjustable bin control on those units. The settings are in the board. I don't have book in front of me but u should call manitowic and they should set u straight.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event