Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    33
    Hello ALL:

    I am wondering if anyone here knows the value of the CB required for a Carrier 5 ton Infinity 16. We have an old 5 ton Heat Pump now with a 40A CB. Can we use the same one for the New Infinity? If the new Infinity is more efficient than the old one, it seems that it should not be any higher than 40.

    We were already told that the Infinity 16 costs more than the Infinity 17, so hate to spend even more $$$.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,187
    The Bryant version calls for 33 amp minimum circuit ampacity, 50 amp maximum breaker. Didn't say minimum breaker so at a guess you'd think 40 would be OK. Unless you have an exotic breaker, they are cheap if you did have to go to 50 amp. If you have a 40 you should have #8 wire which is usually fine for a 50 too.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Valdosta Ga
    Posts
    847
    Change it change it I found a 2.5 ton square d where it burned a hole thru the disconnect box and partway into a wood structure because the breaker was lose on the clip. Whats a breaker $12.99?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    33
    Well, we do have a 40 amp now and the question is if the person adds a 50 amp will my wiring be OK. He does not know the gauge yet. Just wondering if the existing 40 is OK, and if I do need to go to 50 amp, is my wiring OK as it is. I assume the wire is 8 gauge even with the 40 amp in there now as it is a 5 ton heat pump in there now...and it is 50+ feet away.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Valdosta Ga
    Posts
    847
    There is a sticker with the min amp circuit required on the unit.
    The breakers have a sticker that show what wire size they are good for.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    33
    OK, but we have not seen the Infinity 16 yet so do not know. I wonder if Carrier can tell me?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Valdosta Ga
    Posts
    847
    I don't have any of there spec data you may find it at there web sight.
    I still would change the breaker even if it calls for the same size.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,743
    cost of breaker varies greatly with make of panel. ever price a 2 pole 50 for a pushmatic panel??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,462
    A 40 amp breaker will work. The unit is rated for 33.3 MCA ( Minimum Circuit Amps ) and 50 MOCP (Maximum Overcurrent Protection.)
    If all else fails....Try reading the directions!

    Tell it like it is and let the chips fall where they may.

    Any views or opinions stated here are strictly my own.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    33
    You know, the old 5 Ton Heat Pump in there now is rated about the same...50 MAX. It would be great to see the specs but I do not find them anywhere on the Carrier site.


    Originally posted by plain spoken
    A 40 amp breaker will work. The unit is rated for 33.3 MCA ( Minimum Circuit Amps ) and 50 MOCP (Maximum Overcurrent Protection.)
    <<<edit: hit the wrong button.>>>

    [Edited by jrbenny on 04-28-2006 at 11:00 PM]

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,462
    Product data is available to dealers who have access to the protected portion of the site. This is a new unit and most of the literature is just now being released. Your dealer can get a copy for you from his distributor. Even though the unit is more efficient than your old unit, the way breakers and wire are sized according to the National Electrical Code, the size will usually not change.
    If all else fails....Try reading the directions!

    Tell it like it is and let the chips fall where they may.

    Any views or opinions stated here are strictly my own.


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,189
    Originally posted by mpsan
    You know, the old 5 Ton Heat Pump in there now is rated about the same...50 MAX. It would be great to see the specs but I do not find them anywhere on the Carrier site.


    Originally posted by plain spoken
    A 40 amp breaker will work. The unit is rated for 33.3 MCA ( Minimum Circuit Amps ) and 50 MOCP (Maximum Overcurrent Protection.)
    He just gave you the information from Carrier's dealer site.

    Welcome back, PS. Good to see you around the joint again. Missed you in TX.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    33
    Thank you again. I guess I can keep my old breaker as the whole panel is in the house. No rain, etc.

    Thank you again!

    Originally posted by plain spoken
    Product data is available to dealers who have access to the protected portion of the site. This is a new unit and most of the literature is just now being released. Your dealer can get a copy for you from his distributor. Even though the unit is more efficient than your old unit, the way breakers and wire are sized according to the National Electrical Code, the size will usually not change.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event