Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Confused The best troubleshooting book/guide?

Hello, I am very new to hvac and would like to pick your collective professional minds on what you consider to be the best book/guide/manual for troubleshooting. I have been in hvac school for only 4 weeks, but am lucky enough to have gotten on as a $10/hour helper with a great technician that runs service on residential and commercial. I am almost finished reading Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Technology...a great book that has given me a firm handle on components, laws, etc... But I am really disappointed in the AC troubleshooting section. I mean really--a 1300 page book with 17 pages dedicated to AC troubleshooting? I realize that no manual is a substitute for hands-on experience, but what would you recommend that I read/have on hand as a troubleshooting guide? Thank you in advance for any information.

Darrells ac troubleshooting guide.

I would state there is no be all book to teach you how to be a good troubleshooter. Things like experience, training, and mental processing come into play. The guys who are really good are so for a reason. First, they have been there and done that, along with having a thirst for knowledge and good training. The varied segments of this business make it nearly impossible for one or even ten good books to guide you through every situation.

Learn the various aspects, including heat transfer, air and water flow, electrical troubleshooting, and then spend five or more years runnig service to be truly good. I applaud your thirst for knowledge, but just know it will take time to get there and dont get frustrated. Any good mechanic will tell you that they dont know everything, but do know where to go to get answers when necessary.

Sorry for bringing this post up from the grave, but does anyone know of any books that are worth reading . Possibly a newer book.. 03 and up

Quote Originally Posted by drew2128 View Post