Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    48
    Post Likes

    Running hydronic system with no aquastat

    I just installed a rheem 2.5 ton air handler with a hot water coil. I started it up without an aquastat because normally i just use the thermostat to delay the fan. I wired it with a cheap stat that does not have this ability. Is there really a problem with this? It will just blow cold for a few minutes. Now if i install an aquastat, can i just break the green fan wire coming from the stat to the air handler? As simple as wiring the aquastat right into the one green wire? which aquastat should i use?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    edmonds wa
    Posts
    1,067
    Post Likes
    If no A/C on air handler what about a delay on make timer on the G wire? ICM type are maybe under 20 dollars

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    48
    Post Likes
    There is a/c on the system i didnt even think about that. This is more complicated now

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    48
    Post Likes
    Could i just put the green (fan relay) onto the w (heat relay) of the stat? And keep the original fan relay for cooling?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    edmonds wa
    Posts
    1,067
    Post Likes
    yes but verify when you turn ac on the heat is also not on.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    48
    Post Likes
    Im pretty sure its a single transformer (only 24v supply is from air handler) so even if the second fan wire backfeeds to the heat relay, wouldnt it still need the other leg to activate the rh relay on the stat and kick on the circulator? I'll have to try it out like you said.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    edmonds wa
    Posts
    1,067
    Post Likes
    A lot of ways to do it, keep it simple for the next person.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    48
    Post Likes
    I may just put a delay on make timer for the fan and compressor. Itll delay it no matter heat or cold.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    s chester county,pa
    Posts
    149
    Post Likes
    I use these on the return line.
    http://www.supplyhouse.com/Ranco-ETC...nsor-24V-Input
    Is the unit in an attic? If so get 2 and use 1 for freeze protection.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine