Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    In the Ohio/PA/WV valley, Northern WV panhandle.
    Hey fellas, how is everyone today? I am hoping I could get some advice here and hoping I can be pointed in the right direction. I'm a novice, and really need to see what the problem is. I read through some threads today, but still can't make sense as to why my electric bills are so high.

I am going to be as thorough as I can and include pics hoping that will help.

Some background:

- Live in the Ohio Valley, Northern WV panhandle area
    - 1 story brick home
    - 1200 square feet
    - hard wood flooring
    - insulation and windows are fine (according to the guy who installed my new furnace and heat pump anyway)
    - all electric home
    - I live alone - no other human beings in the house
    - One vent in each room, a couple of intakes throughout the house, but NO VENTS in the hallway or the dining room
    - I keep the temperature on 60. Yes, 60.

Purchased my home in July of 2009. The HP and furnace were old, but the heating and cooling worked well. My first summer and winter were high, but nothing like the next 2 winters. In the summer of 2010 my central air quit working. All it blew was warm air. I went without any AC that year and just had to use a window unit and carry it from room to room with me (talk about a pain!) because I didn't have the $ to purchase a new HP.

That winter with no HP I had just the electric furnace. The first month of winter the electric company decided to not read my meter for like 34 or 35 days. My first bill was $445. I had it on 64 that month and about soiled my pants when I got that bill. I instantly turned it down to 60 after that, and no matter how little I used electricity that winter, it was consistently $250 and up.