Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 61

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Atlanta,GA.
    Posts
    897

    KE2therm controller

    has anyone else installed these controllers? I installed one a coupla weeks ago once it was set up it worked great

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Atlanta,GA.
    Posts
    897

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Posts
    1,647
    Our Reno boys put two in last week, the word coming back is it delivers what they claim it will. Smart money.
    The views and opinions posted here are my own. They do not reflect the corporate policies of my employer and will most likely get me fired at some point.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Atlanta,GA.
    Posts
    897
    I like that it can be accessed on web

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Posts
    1,647
    There are various configurations possible, be mindful of what each customer actually needs or your Estimating will suffer.
    The views and opinions posted here are my own. They do not reflect the corporate policies of my employer and will most likely get me fired at some point.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    up in the hizzy
    Posts
    1,390
    saw the first one Friday, another contractor replaced the paragon with it, box temp was high, evaporator partially iced, told the kitchen manager to call back whoever install it. I dont care for the ke2, is a pretty big coil for just two sensor, why re-invent the wheel?timers are fine.
    on-demand defrost devices came full of promises and were all yanked out, the ke2 will follow.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,951
    Either there is a system problem or they never bothered to find the cold spot in the evap.
    The system looks good IMO ...... Get used to gizmos like this.
    The old way will disappear soon.
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    up in the hizzy
    Posts
    1,390
    Quote Originally Posted by itsiceman View Post
    Either there is a system problem or they never bothered to find the cold spot in the evap.
    The system looks good IMO ...... Get used to gizmos like this.
    The old way will disappear soon.
    every years somebody comes out with "the next best thing", I'm sick and tired of hearing the same sales pitch, "its going to save you so much money.....it pays itself in 2 month... blah blah blah and yet the proven conventional methods always prevails.
    The main function of a freezer is to preserve the food,energy savings aren't any good when the food spoils.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    121

    KE2 Therm controller

    Quote Originally Posted by valdelocc View Post
    saw the first one Friday, another contractor replaced the paragon with it, box temp was high, evaporator partially iced, told the kitchen manager to call back whoever install it. I dont care for the ke2, is a pretty big coil for just two sensor, why re-invent the wheel?timers are fine.
    on-demand defrost devices came full of promises and were all yanked out, the ke2 will follow.
    Itsiceman hit the nail on the head. On large coils there may be two locations that seem to maintain ice, usually in the corners. The KE2 unit has the ability to have 2 coil sensors (or 2 air sensors). The 2 coil sensors should mounted in the worst locations and the defrost will not terminate until both locations reach termination temperature and are ice free. Timers, of course, will start a defrost on a schedule even if the coil needs one sooner. The KE2 will start a defrost only when needed, more often when load or door openings increase and fewer when load drops.
    In an infinite universe, not only are all things possible, all things are necessary

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Posts
    1,647
    Giving it Network Access is sorta on hold for now, but it's still a really slick little doodad....
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    The views and opinions posted here are my own. They do not reflect the corporate policies of my employer and will most likely get me fired at some point.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    48
    I installed one last week for the first time for a new 1200 sqft freezer. Start up and commissioning next week.

    It better work is all I can say.
    Attached Images Attached Images     

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Posts
    1,647
    Quote Originally Posted by RuralSpaceman View Post
    I installed one last week for the first time for a new 1200 sqft freezer. Start up and commissioning next week.

    It better work is all I can say.
    How far did you guys go? The unit I installed was pretty bare-bones, no Superheat kit, no electronic valve, no network yet.
    The views and opinions posted here are my own. They do not reflect the corporate policies of my employer and will most likely get me fired at some point.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    48
    We put in the press transducer and temp sensor for SH calculation and an EEV, coil and air sensors too of course. Once it's up, I think the customer will go for the network connection so they can check on it remotely.

    We chose KE2 Therm for the improved defrost management. Most of the year in British Columbia is wet and figured this may help keep equipment better defrosted and improve reliability.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event