Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 28
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Arnold mo
    Posts
    3,796
    Quote Originally Posted by troyport View Post
    When we bought this house, I did a lot to it. it had real lousy single pane basement windows, now they are glass block. I added insulation where the foundation meets the walls, adjusted doors and added seals, better bathroom exhaust fans that closed when not running, replaced seals on the windows and now I put plastic on the windows for the winter. I love that stuff, can't even tell it is there. Added insulation to the attic. Installed seals on all outside-walled switches and outlets, sealed my air ducts in the basement. This was after the first winter, dropped my propane consumption by 20%.
    What kind of insulation did you use "where the foundation meets the walls"? Stuffing fiberglass in there doesn't do the job. The air leakage at that area will just blow through it. If you didn't air seal attic penetrations before insulating it, you should check to make sure you're not getting moisture damage up there, especially if you live in an area with long & cold winters.
    An answer without a question is meaningless.
    Information without understanding is useless.
    You can lead a horse to water............
    http://www.mohomeenergyaudits.com

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hiram, Ohio
    Posts
    207
    All this sizing talk on this thread, had another guy here today, said I'm borderline with the smaller furnace... but probably okay.. But I will be using propane, if the GMVC furnace I thinking about is a 70Kbtu input... should I be concerned since the output of 65K will actually be less because of the propane?

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,046
    Quote Originally Posted by troyport View Post
    All this sizing talk on this thread, had another guy here today, said I'm borderline with the smaller furnace... but probably okay.. But I will be using propane, if the GMVC furnace I thinking about is a 70Kbtu input... should I be concerned since the output of 65K will actually be less because of the propane?
    How does propane affect your output?

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by second opinion View Post
    How does propane affect your output?
    I have that same question as I saw someone else say they had it in some downloaded specs from a manufacturer... it is known to us in the HVAC field that propane delivers more btu/hr than NG. Example: at 60 F a flow of 1 cubic foot/hr of natural gas will deliver 1030 btu/hr but 1 cubic foot/hr of propane will deliver 2488 btu/hr...about 2.5 times more heat!

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,824
    Quote Originally Posted by second opinion View Post
    How does propane affect your output?
    Often manufacturers derate their furnaces when converted to propane because it requires more combustion air per BTU for a clean burn.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greenwood Indiana (Indianapolis)
    Posts
    420

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by NCHeat View Post
    Get an actual load calc done and find out exactly what you need for our design temps 0 to 5 degrees is a good way to go. 70K to 80K at 95% would be my sight unseen guess. Dont guess, have a load calc done. I also like the 2 stage furnace. They are really paying off this m ild winter so far. Good luck
    if you e-mail me your address, i have a cyber space program that will do the calculations for me/you. Any additional information like attic insulation, 2 story or ranch... as much info as you can.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Quad-Cities area (midwest).
    Posts
    2,484
    Quote Originally Posted by troyport View Post
    I found a fill-in-the-blanks chart load calculator on line, where I input details on wall size and r value, ceiling, windows, design temp, etc.. Took a few hours to fill out. funny thing, the initial answer was 68K, then I adjusted the design temp a few degrees either way and got 63K and 85K, then I played with the R value of my attic, jumped the load again back and forth. Makes it sound like if there is a wall someplace in this house that the builder got lazy on and missed a few bats of insulation, I'm screwed... Or if my daughter leaves the bathroom fan on I'm screwed... My Dad says I am WAY overthinking it, and I am starting to agree with him... If I undersize, one day out of every year I can plug in the electric heater and call it a day...
    Good for you "for over thinking" ur HVAC purchace. If more people were like you, our business would have a better name.

    Not so many disappointed customers! I used to get calls all the time to "fix" other contractor problems.

    When we did homeshows, people would come to our booth and tell us, "Geothermal doesn't work, it won't keep my house warm."

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,824
    Homeowner314, this is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.




    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    24,998
    CAVALIER MECHANICAL GROUP

    this is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.




    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.

    You post in this thread and the other have been deleted.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Often manufacturers derate their furnaces when converted to propane because it requires more combustion air per BTU for a clean burn.
    I buy that. I guess I haven't really paid much attention to them derating for LP. Kind of odd though considering you change out not only the orifices but also the regulator spring... The spring obviously having the biggest factor.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,824
    Propane has a much high SG then nat gas. So more pressure is needed to move it through the smaller orifices.

    Carrier has some furnaces out that only run 3.5" on propane.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,515
    Once you decide on a contractor and a size i would also look at adding a heat pump and going dual fuel ,depending on your electric rate there can be a big savings on utility's , here in virgina a dual fuel system can lower propane usage by 40 to 60 percent and at 3.25 a gal it can add up

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Quad-Cities area (midwest).
    Posts
    2,484
    Quote Originally Posted by catmanacman View Post
    Once you decide on a contractor and a size i would also look at adding a heat pump and going dual fuel ,depending on your electric rate there can be a big savings on utility's , here in virgina a dual fuel system can lower propane usage by 40 to 60 percent and at 3.25 a gal it can add up
    Cat beat me to it. Also here in the midwest, propane is expensive to operate verse a duel fuel or also known as a "hybrid" system. The payback is very fast.

    Carrier/Bryant have a variable-speed HP that is amazing (and expensive).

    Those dealers can give you a operational cost comparision in minutes on 4 differant system combinations.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event