Pump Down Procedures
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I am a student in HVAC/R and we are starting A/C Refrigeration Tomorrow and our teacher asked us to list the steps for Pumping Down???

All Help Is Greatly Appreciated!

Originally posted by azikas86
    I am a student in HVAC/R and we are starting A/C Refrigeration Tomorrow and our teacher asked us to list the steps for Pumping Down???

First thing you should do is perform a search on this site: vacuum, pump, ac charging.

I can tell you that the first step in pumping down is pressurizing with nitrogen. Good luck

Originally posted by seatonheating

First thing you should do is perform a search on this site: vacuum, pump, ac charging.

I can tell you that the first step in pumping down is pressurizing with nitrogen. Good luck
    My impression of the question, seaton, is that he is asking how to isolate the refrigerant charge into the reciever or condenser.

You have to give us more to go on 86.

Here's how we do it. We let the a/c run for a few minutes. Put your gauges on (of course). Then close the liquid line valve with a valve wrench. You'll see the pressures start to go down. We usually wait til the suction pressure gets to about 15-20 & pull the disconnect. The valve in the compressor will shut off the other side. After this, close the suction line valve & recover the rest. There will be very little to recover.

You can let your suction pressure go all the way down to zero, but its not real good for the compressor.

Life is like a jar of jalapenos. What you do today might burn your ass tomorrow.

Originally posted by hvac hero