Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Confused new unit not working??

    I installed a 2.5 ton maytag unit went to fire off and ccompressor wasn't coming on.checked voltage on contacor was good checked low volts was good and when i pulled out fuse disconnect the contactor pulls in? Also I should be getting 24v to y and c correct? When i pushed in contactor didn't sound like compressor came on?Any suggestions

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,920
    Get another one. This time you may get lucky.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Palmyra, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    224
    Get out your book from school where it talks about basics.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,367
    How long have you been an installer?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    584
    Quote Originally Posted by drife678 View Post
    Get out your book from school where it talks about basics.
    ouch...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    355
    Your fused disconnect has nothing to do with your contactor pulling in. If you have 24 volts between y and common then it should be pulled in unless your low pressure switch is open. Is it a start cap or split cap? If it is start cap make sure relay isn't upside down. Do you have voltage going to your compressor? If you do then test the windings.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    86
    Restoring power to a power companies saver switch usually makes the contactor lose its 24volts (seven minute delay). Pulling disconnect during a call will allow contactor to pull in (no delay). So 240 can effect if it pulls in or not if it has a saver switch.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    355
    I thought he was killing power to the outdoor unit. So yeah if he is killing power to the indoor unit then obviously no low voltage.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,484
    Many communicating units have a delay when power is lost to the outside unit. However, low voltage, if the inside disconnect is on, should be traceable to the offending delay (board). I used to get around the delay by removing the red wire from the board momentarily. Then I blew a fuse fumbling it back in and touching my screwdriver or something. Now I figure I can do other things while walking down a five minute delay - easier then going back into the basement (or worse) to change a fuse.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    Maybe your tstat had a delay so its just ironic that when you pulled out the disconnect the contactor pulled in. Lol just a thought.

    Sent from my SCH-I800 using Tapatalk 2

  11. #11
    Found the problem the wire from capacitor to contactor wasn't actually connected just barely on easy fix thanks to all who offered help .

  12. #12

  13. #13
    Why so angry ? Thanks for the obvious
    Quote Originally Posted by drife678 View Post
    Get out your book from school where it talks about basics.
    sooo helpful!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event