Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Looking to enter the field

Hello everyone. Been lurking on the forums the past couple days doing some searching and figured Id register and post some questions.

Im in my mid 30s and looking for a change and am considering entering the HVACR field, preferably the commercial side of it. I have no prior experience in any sort of trade or construction work. So please bear with me if my questions sound stupid.

I did some searching on here and see various routes into this trade. As far as unions go, are they likely to select someone a little older with no background in the trade at all? I understand they have the 5 year apprentice programs but do they prefer to admit people into the apprentice program with at least some experience and/or schooling? I understand Id be starting off at the bottom no matter where I go, union or not, but Im just trying to understand the process. Also, which unions are involved in this trade? I know the steamfitters union is, but what are the other ones?

Ive also thought about entering the HVAC program at the local community college. Seems the opinion on here is very mixed about going this route. Again, I understand Id be starting at the bottom once I got out of school but I also dont want to spend the money and time on school and then make 9 bucks an hour for the next 3 years.

Any tips/info appreciated!

If you are not willing to start out at the bottom, HVAC isn't for you....

I am your age. I am taking college. I expect to be nearer of the bottom of the scale when I actually get a job in HVAC.

Im your age, in a 1 year trade school program and i will be making bottom scale money when i get out. I figure about $12 an hour for at least a few months. The good thing about hvac is if you know your stuff you rise very quickly. Once you hit 3-5 years experience you can name your price.