+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Thinking Of Working For Free To Get My Foot In The Door

Post Likes

Thinking Of Working For Free To Get My Foot In The Door

I graduated top of my class from a HVAC trade school. Problem is nobody wants to hire somebody without experience. We all know that what you learn in school (the basics and theory) in no way compares to what a tech needs to know and will learn on the job.

I don't really blame companies for not wanting to hire graduates because it costs them money to teach you on the job. Normaly a service tech call is a one man job and so paying a "helper" to shadow along is costing them money. That's why I figured I'd ask you guys what you would think about somebody offering to work for free in order to gain on the job experience?

I'd also like to take a moment to warn people thinking of going to school for HVAC. Trying to break into this industry is almost impossible from what I've experience and also seen others talk about. Nobody wants to hire a graduate with no experience. It's almost like you have to know somebody to get your foot in the door.

What blows my mind is how anybody ever gets into this field. What also blows my mind is that many techs I've talked to when I see their van at a gas station or something didn't even go to school. They almost always say they knew somebody who owned or worked for an HVAC company and that's how they got their start.

If anybody in Northeast Ohio would like to give a graduate a chance at learning this business, I'll work for free until you feel I'm worth paying something to. Give Tom a call at 216-644-3536.

Post Likes
    There are companies that hire newbies. You may start off being a parts runner, filter changer, or coil cleaner though.

Dont expect to be hired as a service tech or installer. When I started in this trade, I was going to school learning about it. I opened the phone book and called a bunch of shops asking if they are looking for an apprentice.