Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 34
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    890
    Quote Originally Posted by CraziFuzzy View Post
    Something to think about is that there is a LOT of variables in a chiller plant. To truly optimize the whole plant, you must know how all those variables will affect the system. (Things like Chiller efficiency over it's load range, and how this changes with condenser water temperature. The electrical use for the Cooling Tower fans over their range, etc).
    I agree 100%. I think I am going to leave the condenser water alone for now. I will be putting VFD's on the towers and condenser water pumps. The thing that just kills me is they had a plate and frame for free cooling in the winter and they ripped it out! Now they are complaining about having to run the chillers all the time.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,219
    yeah, pretty smart move.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Jurupa Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,768
    Quote Originally Posted by The Reaper View Post
    I agree 100%. I think I am going to leave the condenser water alone for now. I will be putting VFD's on the towers and condenser water pumps. The thing that just kills me is they had a plate and frame for free cooling in the winter and they ripped it out! Now they are complaining about having to run the chillers all the time.
    Yeah, the biggest change in chillers over the last 10-15 years has been the capability to run with much lower condenser temps. With the older chillers, as you've already eluded to, there really isn't much you can do for optimization, aside from resting on the chilled water supply temp based on zone demand (the goal should be for the most open chilled water valve in the facility to be near 100% open).

    The old chillers can't handle the newer methods for increased efficiency, like lower cond temps, variable primary flows, etc.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Portland. Oregon
    Posts
    2

    ClimaCheck Performance Analyzer

    Have any of you heard of the ClimaCheck Analyzer? This tool is by far the most advanced tool for you to get all the information you want regarding optimization of a chiller. Take a look at this

    Advertising Link Removed
    Last edited by Chris_Worthington; 06-17-2012 at 12:24 PM. Reason: Advertising Link Removed

  5. #18
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    383
    looks more like an ad for your company.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    118
    http://www.efftec.com/efftrack/maxim...efficiency.php

    Dont know if it's any good,but they have good articles about chiller operation.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    383
    There are two I have limited experience with, Optimum Energy and the CPECS from Smardt/Kiltech.

    They are both Tridium based, the Optimum Energy one the last I heard requires a annual fee to continue operating. I have heard figures as high as $20k a year. I also believe they will not show you any of their code.

    The CPECS one is also a Tridium based application, it runs on a softjace and uses Kiltechs controllers (I/O Boards) integrated to the softjace through Modbus TCP to chillers and 485 to the VFD's. The one I worked on they gave me full admin access and there is not an ongoing annual fee I am aware of.

    I'm sure there are many others out there. It's really about understanding all of the efficiency curves of your equipment and using the code to determine the sweet spot to be operating in at a given time based on load profile and outside conditions.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,327
    Quote Originally Posted by controlgeek View Post
    the Optimum Energy one the last I heard requires a annual fee to continue operating. I have heard figures as high as $20k a year. I also believe they will not show you any of their code.
    Wow, they act like it's rocket science... I can send you a station done in the 3.0.99 days, where all the logic was done in the JACE, using standard kitcontrol blocks. It did not look pretty, and didn't work all that well either. I think they wised up and packaged it all in a module. Still, I take it all with a grain of salt. If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.

  9. #22
    Advertising not happening here....

    One and only warning given
    Last edited by Chris_Worthington; 01-07-2013 at 08:57 PM. Reason: Advertising not happening here.... One and only warning given

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    Quote Originally Posted by tekEddie View Post
    Advertising not happening here....

    One and only warning given

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    32
    Digo,

    Could you send me the station you mentioned, I'm currently trying to play kitcontrol in the JACE.

    Quote Originally Posted by digo View Post
    Wow, they act like it's rocket science... I can send you a station done in the 3.0.99 days, where all the logic was done in the JACE, using standard kitcontrol blocks. It did not look pretty, and didn't work all that well either. I think they wised up and packaged it all in a module. Still, I take it all with a grain of salt. If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    18
    Armstrong Pumps has a central plant optimization controller. I think that it is BACNet based. I have seen it in action once.

  13. #26

    Cool Hi Digo

    Quote Originally Posted by digo View Post
    Wow, they act like it's rocket science... I can send you a station done in the 3.0.99 days, where all the logic was done in the JACE, using standard kitcontrol blocks. It did not look pretty, and didn't work all that well either. I think they wised up and packaged it all in a module. Still, I take it all with a grain of salt. If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.
    Hi Digo,
    Appreciate if you could share the station that you made a while ago ,may be i can have a better understanding and tweak the same .


    Thanks in advance

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event