Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1,201

    contactor wont pull in?

    i ran into something got me scrach my head,i am little green on electrical,maybe some hvac tech can give me a tip or two,got 28v(dont think little high matter) from controlboard to contactor when it call for heat,but contactor wont pullin,and change contactor,still same thing wont pullin,i jump wire stright from R and C to contactor,and it pull in,if board is bad it shoulndt send 28 v to contactor,if contactor is bad,i jump R and C to it,it shouldnt pull in?what ur think i need to look,check loss wire it all fine,got 240 v L1 and L2,good ground,need help,thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,619
    Phantom voltage.
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,023
    Look at the schematic. There is something else in the circuit.
    "Hey Lama, hey, how about a little something, you know, for the effort." And he says, "there won't be any money, but when you die, on your deathbed, you will receive total consciousness." So I got that goin' for me, which is nice. - Carl Spackler

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Emerald Coast
    Posts
    936
    .
    Maybe board, maybe lps. Is this HP etc....?
    ..
    Do not attempt vast projects with
    half vast experience and ideas.
    ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    131
    I would agree with Sleuth and say there's probably a pressure switch holding you up. If you check "R" to any ground, you'll get 24v. But the pressure switch may be breaking the "Common" side of the circuit; although unconventional, it's possible. Slap those gauges on it!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1,201

    son of the gun!lol

    all wiring check out correct,and try start it again,again have24 volt to contactor,but contactor wont pull in,this time i didt mess with it,and guess what it fire up after about 8 mins?must be the board have safty delay,cause thermostat already stop flashing,thermostat go solid heat on,dont it should start it when thermostat go solid heat on?but this unit dont do that?guess new things everyday,what u think it might be?control board delay?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1,201
    i already check the pressure switch,it stay close,thanks for the tips.but if the pressure switch is open,it shouldnt have 24 v to the contactor,correct?thing i dont understand is why it have voltage to the contactor,but it wont pull in?it is new contacotr,and jump R and C direct to contactor and it will pull in,???scratch my head?lol,any input?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Emerald Coast
    Posts
    936
    .
    If you have R going to a board on the HP(?) "outdoor unit" you'll have a delay.

    And every time you break it'll start your delay over.
    It sounds as if you're looking a defrost control board. I can't see it from here.
    ..
    Do not attempt vast projects with
    half vast experience and ideas.
    ...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1,201

    board number

    it is 2005 tempstar 1.5 tons heat pump,board number is 1069364 made by ranco,thanks,just never see thermostat heat on go solid unit fire up after 3-4mins instaed right away,,dont it should be comeon right away afterneat heat on turn solid?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    384
    Quote Originally Posted by pony View Post
    all wiring check out correct,and try start it again,again have24 volt to contactor,but contactor wont pull in,this time i didt mess with it,and guess what it fire up after about 8 mins?must be the board have safty delay,cause thermostat already stop flashing,thermostat go solid heat on,dont it should start it when thermostat go solid heat on?but this unit dont do that?guess new things everyday,what u think it might be?control board delay?
    Time delays are generally 5 minutes or less...and sometimes designed into the common circuit. And sometimes they get flaky/inconsistent or fail to "turn on" altogether. Seen it a lot with Carrier boards.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,553
    Model and serial..............
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    GEORGIA
    Posts
    1,532
    I'm sorta confused...which happens often..

    You should have 24 volts between Y and common at the contactor.............

    It appears your common is broke some where....go out to the van and get something else that has a 24 v coil, see what it does......

    Been there.........
    "Value our Differences"

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    3,973
    had this happen over the summer.

    take a jumper from where C(common) comes into board and put it to the common side of the contactor.

    make sure your safetys in the circuit dont break common.

    if this jumper works then you have a failed circuit in the board and u need to replace it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event