Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Confused Truck AKA "Idiot Magnet"

Just my rant and rave today, do you guys get a lot of attraction of idiots due to your truck ? I have had ones from parking lots, just asking for advice, which they dont get from me. Or how about the ones that feel they need to knock on your door on the weekends cause "I see you live near me" meanwhile never seen them in my life. Or just neighbors, thinking I really just want to work in there house..to me its just taboo..no neighbors. I mean WTF ? Should I find an accountant that happens to live somewhat close to me and knock on his door, and say "I live down the road, and I thought you could help me with my taxes"... Really.. Comments/support please, am I just making something out of nothing ?

Dis-assemble the condensor unit and air handler, lay it out in a professional manner in their yard and say, "Oh, the truck? Bought it used, I'm an accountant..."
    (The wise men of modern thought) adore a god made of putty or of wax - plastic, effeminate, molluscous, with no masculine faculty about him, and no quality that entitles him to the respect of just and honest men, for a being who cannot be angry at wrongdoing is destitute of one of the essential virtues, and a moral Ruler who is not angry with the wicked, and who refuses to punish crime, is not divine. ---Spurgeon

I get the occasional jagoff asking me to recharge their car AC or some such.

Since I do refrigeration, I tell them that the 'freon' that refrigerators use is different that that which AC units use..

Simple thing to say would be:

"The co I work for has strict policies about moonlighting work; I am sorry. Give the number on the truck a call, I am sure they can schedule you in."

I GUARANTEE you... the folks are looking for a free-bee... and when they find they will have to pay... they will go away (with an excuse of course... to not loose face).
    GA-HVAC-Tech

Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!