Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 33
  1. #1

    Question What wire size, and heat strip size should be used.

    I have a Goodman aepf183016 and an hkr 15 cb heat strip. I am wondering what size of wire to run to the Unit. The distance of the wire is about 15 feet. I live in Nebraska if that matters. He mentioned maybe using 4 gauge or 6 gauge Romex.

    Another question is the heat strip he sold me being 15 kw isn’t listed on the unit. I hope I can trust his judgement but is this normal to use a larger heat strip? The guy who I purchased it though said to run the unit on a low fan speed. Is this ok, or should I downsize to the smaller 10KW heat strip.

    Installer is coming Saturday and I would like to make sure everything is the proper size. Any knowledge would be great.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    MINN
    Posts
    938
    #6ga wire should be ok. but I would leave that up to the electrician on site.
    As for blower speed it needs to be set after instulation to acheive proper temp rise.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Quad-Cities area (midwest).
    Posts
    2,699
    Quote Originally Posted by mfreestyle_2000 View Post
    I have a Goodman aepf183016 and an hkr 15 cb heat strip. I am wondering what size of wire to run to the Unit. The distance of the wire is about 15 feet. I live in Nebraska if that matters. He mentioned maybe using 4 gauge or 6 gauge Romex.

    Another question is the heat strip he sold me being 15 kw isn’t listed on the unit. I hope I can trust his judgement but is this normal to use a larger heat strip? The guy who I purchased it though said to run the unit on a low fan speed. Is this ok, or should I downsize to the smaller 10KW heat strip.

    Installer is coming Saturday and I would like to make sure everything is the proper size. Any knowledge would be great.

    Thanks
    It's important to have the right heat strip for the blower (cfm) of the unit.

    Just because you have a 15 kw doesn't mean it'll work with that AH.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,060

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by mfreestyle_2000 View Post
    I have a Goodman aepf183016 and an hkr 15 cb heat strip. I am wondering what size of wire to run to the Unit. The distance of the wire is about 15 feet. I live in Nebraska if that matters. He mentioned maybe using 4 gauge or 6 gauge Romex.

    Another question is the heat strip he sold me being 15 kw isn’t listed on the unit. I hope I can trust his judgement but is this normal to use a larger heat strip? The guy who I purchased it though said to run the unit on a low fan speed. Is this ok, or should I downsize to the smaller 10KW heat strip.

    Installer is coming Saturday and I would like to make sure everything is the proper size. Any knowledge would be great.

    Thanks
    Your air handler is to small for a 15 kw

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    SE Washington
    Posts
    536

    aepf air handler

    10 kw is cfm this furnace does, proper wire size for a 60 amp circuit is #4 copper, current code
    Total Energy Management, inc

  6. #6
    Is #4 a four gauge wire? Should I purchase a new heat strip before he installs it? What would happen if he did install the 15 kw on a low speed. I'm stlil confused why he sent a larger kw than what the heat pump has listed. Do I need to change the circuit breaker they sent me if I downsize to a 10 kw heat strip. I forgot to mention do I need a wire that runs from the exterior unit?

    Thanks for all the answers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,060
    Quote Originally Posted by mfreestyle_2000 View Post
    Is #4 a four gauge wire? Should I purchase a new heat strip before he installs it? What would happen if he did install the 15 kw on a low speed. I'm stlil confused why he sent a larger kw than what the heat pump has listed. Do I need to change the circuit breaker they sent me if I downsize to a 10 kw heat strip. I forgot to mention do I need a wire that runs from the exterior unit?

    Thanks for all the answers.
    !5 kw will not fit and if it did would burn out quickly due to not enough air flow. Whom ever sent you the equipment did not read the application data

    Google Goodman select residential choose your unit select equipment data

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Zelienople, Pa
    Posts
    2,965
    You really need to hire an experienced professional to spec out your system and install it.

    Your DIY project is going to cost lots more in the long run.
    How tall are you Private???!!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,591
    I would seriously consider redoing the power to both the indoor and outdoor units according to current code.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  10. #10
    I think they all are professionals. I got worried when I read the 15 kw wasn’t on the side of the unit. It stated only up to a 10kw. Any advice where I can order a 10 online and get it by Saturday? Gunnery this isn’t a DIY project. A professional picked out the equipment for me. An experienced person is going to install it. I’m not sure about some people though. I’ve heard so many different things from different companies. Not sure what to trust. One guy said 4 gauge wires, another said 6. I’m just trying to see what other people recommend.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Keokuk, IA
    Posts
    5,520
    You can't go wrong using a larger wire size. It's a little more in materials, but will carry more current with less line losses and less voltage droop. But you really should be following the National Electric Code.

    A real rpofessional would be getting materials frmo a local supply house. A simpel google search can find a dozen online sources for components, some may or may not fit in your air handler. IF you're ordering online, you have to really know what you need.

    Heat strips should have and normally would have been ordered with the air handler.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Zelienople, Pa
    Posts
    2,965
    A real professional doesn't spec the equipment and leave it up to the homeowner to buy...

    Sounds like you're dealing with a moonlighter or someone very inexperienced...
    How tall are you Private???!!!!

  13. #13
    Yea i'm starting to have second thoughts on using him. He quoted $$$& to $$$$ to install everything. I assume thats an ok price?
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 01-10-2012 at 06:10 PM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event